0ca3ea8b9aa4f7190cf66afe37d956a402b9ae92: Bug 1352108 - Add missing attributes to custom tab activity declaration. r?sebastian draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Mon, 24 Apr 2017 21:05:39 +0200 - rev 567308
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352108 - Add missing attributes to custom tab activity declaration. r?sebastian Not handling the appropriate configuration changes means that e.g. each rotation destroys and recreates the CustomTabActivity, which'll introduce a slight delay until we eventually repaint the web content. As for the soft input mode, if we don't specify adjustResize, then the IME might actually simply overlap our window and obscure the end of content if the user has already scrolled down as far as possible. MozReview-Commit-ID: BzBmIoGbhca
ab05f05d26c4f2d2254b571f992cb698a6109c91: Bug 1353857 - Include the tab ID when notifying about leaving/entering a web app's scope. r?walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Mon, 17 Apr 2017 16:37:58 +0200 - rev 567307
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1353857 - Include the tab ID when notifying about leaving/entering a web app's scope. r?walkingice We only want to process the AppEntered/Left message if it actually concerns our currently displayed tab. MozReview-Commit-ID: EJ8RzRzDNAz
11c4ec05b2a1e15284ac5c6848b33f746ec6db01: Bug 1351808 - Part 2 - Exclude non-standard tab types from session store. r?sebastian draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 13:43:09 +0200 - rev 567306
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351808 - Part 2 - Exclude non-standard tab types from session store. r?sebastian Restoring anything other than normal browsing tabs (e.g. custom tabs, web apps) is more involved because those tabs - don't appear in our normal tabs UI - are opened in separate activities - when we're starting up, Android's task switcher might or might not still have available task entries corresponding to such tabs from the last session Therefore, for now, the session store will simply exclude those kinds of tabs from being saved in the session store data. Instead of a real restore, if the corresponding tab has been closed or Gecko stopped running, we just recreate the custom tab/web app based on the stored Activity intent data we have available (bug 1352997). Tab zombification while Gecko is running however remains fully supported, as we continue collecting session history data for all tab types, even if we don't necessarily save it to disk. Because custom tabs/web apps currently still share a common Gecko browser window with normal tabs, we also have to modify our selected tab tracking logic accordingly, so that selecting one of these special tab types doesn't overwrite the last selected normal browsing tab. To that effect, we now track the selected tab *ID* in memory and only convert that to a tab index when writing the data to disk. As the ID remains stable while Gecko is running, this makes tracking changes for a sub-group of tabs only easier, as we don't have to watch out for closing tabs of *any* kind affecting the tab index of everything behind them. Bug 1346008#c3 has some preliminary ideas on how session restoring for custom tabs/web apps could be made to work. MozReview-Commit-ID: 1q5Jtv0DKrE
1249f6974f5103458ae8668105a5ee095db3337a: Bug 1351808 - Part 1 - Replace some magic numbers in session store. r?sebastian draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 14:18:23 +0200 - rev 567305
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351808 - Part 1 - Replace some magic numbers in session store. r?sebastian MozReview-Commit-ID: BzqieZVi7h4
8e7076f7bdf5088b4973960b0823eab29aaedf15: BrowserApp startup tab selection debug logging draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 22:59:16 +0200 - rev 567304
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
BrowserApp startup tab selection debug logging MozReview-Commit-ID: 79QnUF1Edg3
40f414c119df3c47efb1c3d89da21e695251f28a: debug logging draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 19:16:31 +0200 - rev 567303
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
debug logging MozReview-Commit-ID: FoUd4cklLKs
a01f8f4a28bd99b3e74b5306dca6bb02a67038a8: Bug 1352997 - Part 7 - Don't switch activities if we're closing a tab while exiting the activity. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Fri, 14 Apr 2017 19:58:09 +0200 - rev 567302
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 7 - Don't switch activities if we're closing a tab while exiting the activity. r?sebastian,walkingice Closing the currently selected tab will select another tab, which can trigger an activity switch if the tab types differ. We don't want that if we're about to close the activity, as that'll bring that activity into the foreground instead of simply walking back along the activity history stack. To give an example: Without this patch, closing the last custom tab will select a normal browsing tab, which will trigger an activity switch, so instead of returning to the user's previous activity, pressing back will send us to BrowserApp. There's one additional catch: If we change our onDone() behaviour and no longer finish() the SingleTabActivity when exiting (in order to avoid a costly restart of Gecko should the user return to us soon), this means that the activity that has just been exited could be brought back into the foreground via the onResume() codepath. In that case the mLastActiveGeckoApp-check won't be triggered if no other GeckoApp-based activity was active in the meantime, so we wouldn't reselect/reopen the activity's desired tab, but instead display the tab that was selected when closing the previous tab. Therefore, we track this via an additional flag that is set for this case. MozReview-Commit-ID: 3jOvBXQUrfo
0d364b28f6f9ce77b55f4122a4fb5bf319ea400f: Bug 1352997 - Part 6 - Switch over web apps and implement additional startup logic for them. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Tue, 04 Apr 2017 21:50:33 +0200 - rev 567301
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 6 - Switch over web apps and implement additional startup logic for them. r?sebastian,walkingice Web Apps are single task activities, but Android's task switcher will only ever return the intent that originally created the activity and will never ever update its stored intent for subsequent launches via onNewIntent, so we have to do this ourselves. Additionally, web apps have some additional logic when being launched via a new intent that checks whether the currently loaded page matches the scope of the web app intent and then resets it if necessary. We now hook up this logic to the new SingleTabActivity wiring. MozReview-Commit-ID: 9bo4gXbfPNg
d63f89d3accbf1deeed9b3409101d2ba93e7213f: Bug 1352997 - Part 5 - Implement common behaviour for custom tabs/web apps and switch over the former. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 19:19:32 +0200 - rev 567300
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 5 - Implement common behaviour for custom tabs/web apps and switch over the former. r?sebastian,walkingice This implements the common behaviour for restoring the correct tab when switching to/from custom tab and web app activities. Unlike our normal UI, those activities are basically single tab activities, that is each activity is linked to a certain Gecko tab, with no facilities (bugs aside) for the user to directly load/select a different tab within that activity. Therefore, here we basically update the selected tab only when the activity is starting up and initially creating its new (or, especially once tab type switching will be implemented, taking over an existing) content tab. When subsequently restoring, we then check whether the tab is still available. If it is, we select it, if not, we fall back to opening a new tab based on the available intent data. This also means that we no longer have to finish() the activity on closing so the activity state (finished) matches the tab (closed), which means that we no longer have to prematurely kill Gecko as a side effect of that. MozReview-Commit-ID: KjFz1qrqWLy
3aee38741453e100a60dc77a25d6fb2652a73b7c: Bug 1352997 - Part 4 - Remember the tab selected by session restoring if somebody other than BrowserApp is starting up first. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 19:15:19 +0200 - rev 567299
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 4 - Remember the tab selected by session restoring if somebody other than BrowserApp is starting up first. r?sebastian,walkingice The first activity to run triggers Gecko startup and therefore session restore. Since the selected tab stored in the session file is only of interest for BrowserApp, we need to store it somewhere safe if some other activity (e.g. custom tab/web app) starts up first. This is because currently everything needs to share the same Gecko browser window, so those other activities selecting a tab of their own when starting up will necessarily override session restore's tab selection. MozReview-Commit-ID: 9GwTDbzgWF9
6eb00541e55a94390efa1b37bda31e4af0b06553: Bug 1352997 - Part 3 - Re-implement tracking of last selected tab for BrowserApp. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 22:55:10 +0200 - rev 567298
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 3 - Re-implement tracking of last selected tab for BrowserApp. r?sebastian,walkingice Currently, we basically take a snapshot of the currently selected tab when pausing an activity and then later re-select that tab ID when switching back from another activity within our application. In practice, this doesn't seem entirely fool-proof, so when switching between our normal UI (BrowserApp) and custom tabs or web apps we can eventually end up with the wrong tab being selected in the wrong activity. In this part, we'll rip out the current code and replace it by a new implementation for BrowserApp - following parts will then cover custom tabs and web apps. As BrowserApp is our normal tabbed browsing interface, we can simply track all tab switches for BROWSING-type tabs as they happen, which ensures that our data is always up-to-date. Because tab IDs remain unique only within the same application session and are reused if we're terminated and then later restart, we need to take additional precautions to make sure we're really selecting the correct tab object - the savedInstanceState can carry even across (OOM-)kills. Therefore we now additionally also store and compare the current per-session UUID to make sure that the tab we're trying to select is really the same one it was when the activity was last running. For BrowserApp caring about this is less important because on a full startup, the selection behaviour will be overridden by session restore anyway (although we can still hit it if only BrowserApp gets destroyed while Gecko keeps running, or if BrowserApp is launched after some other activity has already loaded Gecko), but it'll be quite relevant for web apps and custom tabs which don't have that benefit. As it stands, this patch temporarily breaks behaviour around activity restoring for custom tabs/web apps, but tearing the old implementation out in one go was easier and the patch needs to be split somewhere. MozReview-Commit-ID: I0Tq9XZGvpV
7003a6509ab543ba9693a8b64e2b63dad08976b2: Bug 1352997 - Part 2 - Provide dedicated methods for typical homepage operations. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 09 Apr 2017 19:30:21 +0200 - rev 567297
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 2 - Provide dedicated methods for typical homepage operations. r?sebastian,walkingice That is figuring out whether a homepage has been set (but not caring about the specific page), or else getting the homepage URL with an automatic fallback (to about:home) if no homepage has been set. MozReview-Commit-ID: D6Uy3A4P4Qc
473e723afc2a8bb06958136711bfe2290bc616f3: Bug 1352997 - Part 1 - Register GeckoApp's onTabsChangedListener earlier. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 11:16:13 +0200 - rev 567296
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1352997 - Part 1 - Register GeckoApp's onTabsChangedListener earlier. r?sebastian,walkingice For BrowserApp we want to switch the last selected tab tracking to use tab selection events instead, so we need to register the listener earlier in order to catch the initial selection of the startup tab as well. MozReview-Commit-ID: F7luIE6oNK
5e373e925f01484670610e2f697d6dedeef3158e: Bug 1351739 - Part 6 - Finish the WebAppActivity when closing via onDone. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 02 Apr 2017 15:43:31 +0200 - rev 567295
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 6 - Finish the WebAppActivity when closing via onDone. r?sebastian,walkingice Custom and web app tabs behave as any other externally launched URLs, that is pressing the back button closes not only the activity, but the tab as well when reaching the beginning of session history. Therefore, we should finish the activity in this case (just as the CustomTabsActivity already does), so the next launch runs through the onCreate code path and opens a new tab again. MozReview-Commit-ID: 14AhWkmb5O7
f1f0a40914cdc8eaf8f3e6a9b11622fa3af1fe4b: Bug 1351739 - Part 5 - Implement activity switching for web apps. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 02 Apr 2017 18:26:45 +0200 - rev 567294
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 5 - Implement activity switching for web apps. r?sebastian,walkingice Differences to custom tabs: - We don't have to store the full intent, just storing the manifest path is enough. - Akin to the LauncherActivity we have to route the request to the correct WebAppActivity instance depending on the manifest path. We also have to modify the intent handling when GeckoApp is starting up - the intent handling of the GeckoApp + BrowserApp combo requires "nulling" out (by setting it to ACTION_MAIN) the current intent if it's not a fresh intent (e.g. the activity is recreated after having been destroyed or relaunched from the task switcher). For web apps on the other hand we want to keep the intent around even in those cases, as it contains state we need even later on. Additionally, we want to make use of GeckoApp's startup code for either selecting the tab from the intent or loading a new tab. Therefore we save the launch intent and restore it once GeckoApp's onCreate() has run. Note that this solution is not entirely correct either, because with this each onCreate() call will open a new tab, even when this is not necessary when only the activity (but not Firefox and Gecko as a whole) had been destroyed. This behaviour will be fixed as part of bug 1352997. This approach is also a bit different than the one chosen in bug 1351605 for custom tabs, which was independently developed in parallel. Bug 1352997 will unify this, too. MozReview-Commit-ID: 94uZ3c8CUVD
0d101d72674fda61ab8fe442a36a9b810cace121: Bug 1351739 - Part 4 - Handle selected tab temporarily being undefined. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 09 Apr 2017 19:49:02 +0200 - rev 567293
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 4 - Handle selected tab temporarily being undefined. r?sebastian,walkingice This can happen if closing a tab (via the back button) simultaneously also triggered an activity switch (by selecting the parent tab). In that case the tab is closed, but formal selection of the new tab only completes after we've switched activities. At the moment activity switching might trigger an application-background/foreground cycle, which means we could hit the selected tab temporarily being undefined in Gecko. MozReview-Commit-ID: 6p4cOqj29HX
598ebd347463e779aa4033443fadf9d09dd3fed5: Bug 1351739 - Part 3 - Switch activities when a custom tab is selected/unselected. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sat, 08 Apr 2017 23:10:51 +0200 - rev 567292
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 3 - Switch activities when a custom tab is selected/unselected. r?sebastian,walkingice On tab selection, the Tabs instance now checks whether the type of the tab to be selected matches the currently running activity. If it doesn't, the tab switching is aborted and instead, an intent for the correct activity is sent. When the new activity launches, it finds that the intent also includes a tab ID, which means that instead of opening a new tab we retry the tab selection, which will then succeed now that we're in the correct activity. Because for custom tabs the launch intent can contain all sorts of customisations, we now have to save the intent when a custom tab is opened for the first time, so that later on, when switching e.g. from BrowserApp back to a custom tab we can use the correct intent to launch the custom tab activity. MozReview-Commit-ID: KWdkweKBocz
07f71d713dbe9bf578ace7e617b2475f4b237191: Bug 1351739 - Part 2 - Convert CustomTabsActivity to SafeIntents. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 02 Apr 2017 14:09:36 +0200 - rev 567291
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 2 - Convert CustomTabsActivity to SafeIntents. r?sebastian,walkingice These are potentially untrusted external intents, so we should use SafeIntents for interacting with them. MozReview-Commit-ID: 3nmjg85wbr1
f44f3e10a5eb9aa8f2d63f281fc3118f448da6fc: Bug 1351739 - Part 1 - Track the currently active activity. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Sun, 02 Apr 2017 11:22:12 +0200 - rev 567290
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 1 - Track the currently active activity. r?sebastian,walkingice Required because later on, we'll need to know if we're in the correct activity for a tab or need to switch activities. As a follow-up, we can later also hook up our current manual activity tracking from GeckoApplication to this (we most probably won't be able to get rid of the GeckoActivityStatus shenanigans, though). MozReview-Commit-ID: 5lZrAMsB9Gy
a10adcfbc1b017bb7deae63f1156ea3c1ec5f4a1: Bug 1351739 - Part 0 - Use INVALID_TAB_ID more. r?sebastian,walkingice draft
Jan Henning <jh+bugzilla@buttercookie.de> - Thu, 06 Apr 2017 21:30:55 +0200 - rev 567289
Push 55520 by mozilla@buttercookie.de at Mon, 24 Apr 2017 19:06:27 +0000
Bug 1351739 - Part 0 - Use INVALID_TAB_ID more. r?sebastian,walkingice -1 is probably not all that mysterious as far as magic numbers go, but still... MozReview-Commit-ID: zK3P6HeWzK
(0) -300000 -100000 -30000 -10000 -3000 -1000 -300 -100 -50 -20 +20 +50 +100 +300 +1000 +3000 +10000 +30000 +100000 tip