searching for reviewer(agashlin)
89cb4083e3104c80036119edb4febd136de7091b: Bug 1690062 - r=agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Sat, 20 Feb 2021 00:49:02 +0000 - rev 568170
Push 136876 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Sat, 20 Feb 2021 00:51:21 +0000
Bug 1690062 - r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D105382
7f773172d8fb885ee4f401387de713bb84d44672: Bug 1685594 - Tests for ManualAppUpdateOnly policy r=agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Thu, 21 Jan 2021 23:49:41 +0000 - rev 564537
Push 134906 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Mon, 25 Jan 2021 18:47:31 +0000
Bug 1685594 - Tests for ManualAppUpdateOnly policy r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D101252
608cd5ff3a78e658103f2bdaf566483fc3001f60: Bug 1685594 - Add capability for turning off automatic application update checks r=agashlin,preferences-reviewers
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Thu, 21 Jan 2021 23:47:19 +0000 - rev 564536
Push 134906 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Mon, 25 Jan 2021 18:47:31 +0000
Bug 1685594 - Add capability for turning off automatic application update checks r=agashlin,preferences-reviewers Note that this does not add the policy necessary to enable this feature. That policy will be added in Bug 1653430 Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D101251
413153cd698a92631d89cf14fc8d48a95ebd112a: Bug 1684238 - Remove dependency to failure crates from bitsdownload. r=agashlin
Xidorn Quan <me@upsuper.org> - Tue, 05 Jan 2021 22:32:00 +0000 - rev 562135
Push 133608 by mozilla@upsuper.org at Wed, 06 Jan 2021 08:33:40 +0000
Bug 1684238 - Remove dependency to failure crates from bitsdownload. r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D100480
fbdb6c91bd6256415a54c5198fb1e3bff8dd7c64: Bug 1683263 - Use typographic apostrophes consistently in Firefox strings, r=agashlin,fluent-reviewers
Francesco Lodolo (:flod) <flod@lodolo.net> - Sat, 19 Dec 2020 06:48:21 +0000 - rev 561358
Push 133171 by flodolo@mozilla.com at Sat, 19 Dec 2020 06:51:54 +0000
Bug 1683263 - Use typographic apostrophes consistently in Firefox strings, r=agashlin,fluent-reviewers Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D100082
4e0dc2aaaaef31955369678cb164ee2f13eb6517: Bug 353804 - Fix intermittent failure in added tests r=agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Fri, 18 Dec 2020 20:58:34 +0000 - rev 561323
Push 133148 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Fri, 18 Dec 2020 21:03:36 +0000
Bug 353804 - Fix intermittent failure in added tests r=agashlin It looks like some of my tests end up opening the doorhanger more quickly than this test framework expects. We can solve this problem by checking to see if the doorhanger is already open before we wait for it to open. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D100159
be7f977e348209cac42ec22ac7c684df4e1acf9b: Bug 1666653 - Set sPreXULSkeletonUIEnabled correctly r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Fri, 06 Nov 2020 20:58:46 +0000 - rev 556376
Push 130454 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Mon, 09 Nov 2020 04:38:46 +0000
Bug 1666653 - Set sPreXULSkeletonUIEnabled correctly r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95576
fcd75e267fa9b7b8ebfaf9448b1d1286f0e862f1: Bug 1666653 - Only draw the skeleton UI when cmdline args are approved r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Fri, 06 Nov 2020 20:58:43 +0000 - rev 556375
Push 130454 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Mon, 09 Nov 2020 04:38:46 +0000
Bug 1666653 - Only draw the skeleton UI when cmdline args are approved r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95575
e0b0efa141af79b5da4d4f32e3bff27f89fe08cf: Bug 1674221 - Make skeleton UI pref visible to windows users r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Fri, 06 Nov 2020 15:21:19 +0000 - rev 556275
Push 130406 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Fri, 06 Nov 2020 21:14:59 +0000
Bug 1674221 - Make skeleton UI pref visible to windows users r=agashlin This is not particularly related to the bug, but it's small enough that it hardly warrants its own bug. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95543
c98182657e6cd5a275af01f0ba66a37c15966577: Bug 1674221 - Prefix Skeleton UI reg names with exe path r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Fri, 06 Nov 2020 19:35:20 +0000 - rev 556274
Push 130406 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Fri, 06 Nov 2020 21:14:59 +0000
Bug 1674221 - Prefix Skeleton UI reg names with exe path r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95541
3d9b951db0f4ef78d71a1007e7a4ba83d06ab102: Bug 1674221 - Make skeleton UI pref visible to windows users r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 05 Nov 2020 20:18:18 +0000 - rev 556096
Push 130315 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 05 Nov 2020 20:24:45 +0000
Bug 1674221 - Make skeleton UI pref visible to windows users r=agashlin This is not particularly related to the bug, but it's small enough that it hardly warrants its own bug. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95543
5092fde1ebe1ebe1a9fb30cb8813331e5fab7902: Bug 1674221 - Prefix Skeleton UI reg names with exe path r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 05 Nov 2020 20:18:16 +0000 - rev 556095
Push 130315 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 05 Nov 2020 20:24:45 +0000
Bug 1674221 - Prefix Skeleton UI reg names with exe path r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95541
df5dce707d2b25882809f71256b16175bc4095a1: Bug 1674540 - Remove unused prthread.h include r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Mon, 02 Nov 2020 16:03:04 +0000 - rev 555448
Push 129959 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Mon, 02 Nov 2020 16:50:17 +0000
Bug 1674540 - Remove unused prthread.h include r=agashlin This snuck in after I forgot to delete this upon realizing I couldn't use nspr stuff in mozglue. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D95530
23c5d0a4118e891744c4978c78b79f8aac5939ce: Bug 1666874 - Support maximized windows for skeleton UI r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 29 Oct 2020 19:04:02 +0000 - rev 555161
Push 129791 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 29 Oct 2020 19:53:45 +0000
Bug 1666874 - Support maximized windows for skeleton UI r=agashlin Most of this patch is a dance to avoid size flickering of the skeleton UI window. We change all Resize/Move/SetSizeMode calls from before the first nsWindow::Show call. Normally those have no effect, since the window isn't shown yet, and if the window is not maximized, they typically match the sizes we've gotten out of the registry anyway. However, if we are maximized, then they produce a lot of visual noise. We can however achieve the desired effect by just calling SetWindowPlacement. Similarly, we switch the window styles of the skeleton UI window to match those of the toplevel Windows window, and adjust the client rect from our window proc in a way that matches the adjustments in nsWindow in the WM_NCCALCSIZE handler. We do this because otherwise we get a flicker as soon as we change the styles and nonclient margins as the fake chrome pops up and then back down. Lastly we also change the extended window styles so that they match. We historically added WS_EX_TOOLWINDOW here to hide the toolbar entry, because it would otherwise switch out to a new toolbar entry when we changed the window styles. However since our new styles match, we no longer need to do this. It was also causing the maximized window to paint over the Windows taskbar. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D93534
7e7a708a999720f8fccf5b33525484bd9d0fd5a6: Bug 1665455 - Animate the Skeleton UI r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 29 Oct 2020 19:03:59 +0000 - rev 555160
Push 129791 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 29 Oct 2020 19:53:45 +0000
Bug 1665455 - Animate the Skeleton UI r=agashlin For a better user experience during slow startups (and to match the design by Markus Jaritz), we want to animate the placeholder elements (the grey rectangles which hold the place of text and icons) with a light moving gradient. A question may arise regarding whether the performance cost of running this animation is worth the improved user experience. My claim is yes, hinging mostly on the observation that the performance cost is small. On my machine, one frame of the animation takes at most 0.15ms, and runs every 16.15ms. This means we eat less than 1% CPU time on one core of the system. It should also be noted that this animation runs primarily during the window wherein we are prefetching dlls, AKA while we are blocked on IO and the CPU is more likely to be idle. On slower systems, one frame may take longer - however, on slower systems we should also be blocked *more* by IO, making the trade favorable. For further anecdotal evidence of this being okay, when I run this on slow reference hardware shortly after OS startup, I do not see any dropped frames, indicating that this has very little trouble completing, and is thus quite cheap. Regarding testing, I will invoke the same logic as for the rest of the skeleton UI patches - it would involve quite a bit of work to test this in automation given our existing frameworks. It may be worth it at some point, but certainly not while this is a feature that we are just experimenting with and which is not enabled by default. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D91453
967c4cf56fd2d8b8f6875386550bbe51f1ffcf4f: Bug 1666874 - Support maximized windows for skeleton UI r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 29 Oct 2020 14:09:54 +0000 - rev 555097
Push 129751 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 29 Oct 2020 14:15:39 +0000
Bug 1666874 - Support maximized windows for skeleton UI r=agashlin Most of this patch is a dance to avoid size flickering of the skeleton UI window. We change all Resize/Move/SetSizeMode calls from before the first nsWindow::Show call. Normally those have no effect, since the window isn't shown yet, and if the window is not maximized, they typically match the sizes we've gotten out of the registry anyway. However, if we are maximized, then they produce a lot of visual noise. We can however achieve the desired effect by just calling SetWindowPlacement. Similarly, we switch the window styles of the skeleton UI window to match those of the toplevel Windows window, and adjust the client rect from our window proc in a way that matches the adjustments in nsWindow in the WM_NCCALCSIZE handler. We do this because otherwise we get a flicker as soon as we change the styles and nonclient margins as the fake chrome pops up and then back down. Lastly we also change the extended window styles so that they match. We historically added WS_EX_TOOLWINDOW here to hide the toolbar entry, because it would otherwise switch out to a new toolbar entry when we changed the window styles. However since our new styles match, we no longer need to do this. It was also causing the maximized window to paint over the Windows taskbar. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D93534
e46238e6aabf422eb2fef056aee609cf4bfba786: Bug 1665455 - Animate the Skeleton UI r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Wed, 28 Oct 2020 19:22:54 +0000 - rev 555096
Push 129751 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 29 Oct 2020 14:15:39 +0000
Bug 1665455 - Animate the Skeleton UI r=agashlin For a better user experience during slow startups (and to match the design by Markus Jaritz), we want to animate the placeholder elements (the grey rectangles which hold the place of text and icons) with a light moving gradient. A question may arise regarding whether the performance cost of running this animation is worth the improved user experience. My claim is yes, hinging mostly on the observation that the performance cost is small. On my machine, one frame of the animation takes at most 0.15ms, and runs every 16.15ms. This means we eat less than 1% CPU time on one core of the system. It should also be noted that this animation runs primarily during the window wherein we are prefetching dlls, AKA while we are blocked on IO and the CPU is more likely to be idle. On slower systems, one frame may take longer - however, on slower systems we should also be blocked *more* by IO, making the trade favorable. For further anecdotal evidence of this being okay, when I run this on slow reference hardware shortly after OS startup, I do not see any dropped frames, indicating that this has very little trouble completing, and is thus quite cheap. Regarding testing, I will invoke the same logic as for the rest of the skeleton UI patches - it would involve quite a bit of work to test this in automation given our existing frameworks. It may be worth it at some point, but certainly not while this is a feature that we are just experimenting with and which is not enabled by default. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D91453
5058a78c1008f0917866aa09abff7430bcefa085: Bug 1672003 - Create basic test for skeleton UI registry values r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Tue, 27 Oct 2020 15:07:07 +0000 - rev 554690
Push 129525 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Tue, 27 Oct 2020 15:12:36 +0000
Bug 1672003 - Create basic test for skeleton UI registry values r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D94111
d87480ebae7e5e6ea655de06936e0c5fbb65e3f9: Bug 1672003 - Create basic test for skeleton UI registry values r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Fri, 23 Oct 2020 22:58:48 +0000 - rev 554534
Push 129440 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Mon, 26 Oct 2020 14:52:38 +0000
Bug 1672003 - Create basic test for skeleton UI registry values r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D94111
d03fca46d6fe76dadd7b4f54ace17298ac7aba06: Bug 1671715 - Don't try to reboot if cleaning up UpdateLogs fails. r=agashlin
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Fri, 16 Oct 2020 22:50:11 +0000 - rev 553346
Push 128848 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Fri, 16 Oct 2020 23:01:46 +0000
Bug 1671715 - Don't try to reboot if cleaning up UpdateLogs fails. r=agashlin My patch for bug 1665195 included a REBOOTOK flag because I wanted to make sure the UpdateLogs directory would get deleted even if doing so failed at the moment. What I didn't realize is that the RmDir instruction will set the reboot flag if removing the directory fails for any reason whatsoever, even if it's just because the directory wasn't empty, in which case rebooting wouldn't help. For some reason I thought there was a check for that condition, but having now had a look in the NSIS source, there is not. There's no easy way to check for ourselves whether the directory is empty or not, so to avoid a spurious reboot prompt from either the installer or the uninstaller, this patch just gives up on the REBOOTOK flag. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D93860
0bd98379fad42ce275cd300489cc27400ed2de7e: Bug 1665453 - Poll for native events in between prefetching early dlls r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 24 Sep 2020 23:51:42 +0000 - rev 550357
Push 127264 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Fri, 25 Sep 2020 13:50:15 +0000
Bug 1665453 - Poll for native events in between prefetching early dlls r=agashlin In the initial patches for bug 1656526, mhowell noticed that for startups which take a very long time, if the user interacts with the skeleton UI window, the OS will flag us as not responsive, which could be a poorer user experience than seeing nothing. Since our UI is designed to look non-interactive anyway, we assume that a better experience would be to simply squash the not responsive response from the OS by trivially processing native events. It's not perfect in, say, the event that startup is hung for some reason, but it's arguably preferable to our old model of startup being hung, which was just nothing being displayed at all. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D91005
ec0bad6c498add213a774b084520f3a97c38c963: Bug 1665453 - Rename EarlyBlankWindow to PreXULSkeletonUI r=agashlin
Doug Thayer <dothayer@mozilla.com> - Thu, 24 Sep 2020 14:25:56 +0000 - rev 550176
Push 127146 by dothayer@mozilla.com at Thu, 24 Sep 2020 15:07:43 +0000
Bug 1665453 - Rename EarlyBlankWindow to PreXULSkeletonUI r=agashlin This is just a more correct name for what's going on. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D91004
8514e6f9d545a2da5f86bb8cdc6402b2212d364f: Bug 1665195 - Also delete the UpdateLogs directory from the Firefox uninstaller. r=agashlin
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Tue, 15 Sep 2020 23:41:50 +0000 - rev 548853
Push 126424 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Tue, 15 Sep 2020 23:49:50 +0000
Bug 1665195 - Also delete the UpdateLogs directory from the Firefox uninstaller. r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D90317
326bcbd907df74b6294b9058cb1f4d16107f8111: Bug 1663217 - Remove MOZ_MUST_USE comment from NSIS BitsUtils.cpp. r=agashlin
Chris Peterson <cpeterson@mozilla.com> - Wed, 09 Sep 2020 17:23:34 +0000 - rev 548086
Push 125982 by cpeterson@mozilla.com at Thu, 10 Sep 2020 03:48:24 +0000
Bug 1663217 - Remove MOZ_MUST_USE comment from NSIS BitsUtils.cpp. r=agashlin The MOZ_MUST_USE macro is defined as clang's and gcc's nonstandard __attribute__((warn_unused_result)). Now that we compile as C++17 by default (bug 1560664), we can replace MOZ_MUST_USE with C++17's standard [[nodiscard]] attribute. BitsUtils.cpp only references MOZ_MUST_USE in a comment about forking a copy of mozilla::ScopeExit to remove some dependencies on other Mozilla header files (including MOZ_MUST_USE from mfbt/Attributes.h). [[nodiscard]] doesn't require a header file, so we can just remove this comment about MOZ_MUST_USE. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D89296
7d7b426468ac43efe9095313de47de0be5b9331f: Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin
Gijs Kruitbosch <gijskruitbosch@gmail.com> - Fri, 21 Aug 2020 15:38:35 +0000 - rev 545689
Push 124737 by gijskruitbosch@gmail.com at Fri, 21 Aug 2020 18:15:05 +0000
Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D87371
c034b967d74046daaa2c608d030414a623ab3840: Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin
Gijs Kruitbosch <gijskruitbosch@gmail.com> - Thu, 20 Aug 2020 20:21:05 +0000 - rev 545580
Push 124667 by gijskruitbosch@gmail.com at Thu, 20 Aug 2020 20:28:33 +0000
Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D87371
4d700219feabe7943055b2db80090afe7d4fe19a: Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin
Gijs Kruitbosch <gijskruitbosch@gmail.com> - Thu, 20 Aug 2020 00:25:18 +0000 - rev 545441
Push 124573 by gijskruitbosch@gmail.com at Thu, 20 Aug 2020 00:31:56 +0000
Bug 1571247 - don't default to the jfif extension for image/jpeg files as suggested by the Windows registry, r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D87371
e27196d5038ced807e6effaffee9d0cec15e0c57: Bug 1633899 - Add task description to WDBA task registration r=mhowell,agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Fri, 14 Aug 2020 18:17:16 +0000 - rev 544725
Push 124224 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Fri, 14 Aug 2020 18:50:01 +0000
Bug 1633899 - Add task description to WDBA task registration r=mhowell,agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D84622
06722da969b982cf63cfae008072fb0a5d82ccb2: Bug 1654913 - Remove Maintenance Service UpdateLogs directory during uninstall. r=agashlin
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Wed, 29 Jul 2020 23:35:48 +0000 - rev 542539
Push 122948 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Thu, 30 Jul 2020 01:50:15 +0000
Bug 1654913 - Remove Maintenance Service UpdateLogs directory during uninstall. r=agashlin Since bug 1510494, when the maintenance service is used, we create update log and status files inside the service directory and then move them into the regular update directory when finished. However, the directory those temp files are stored in did not get added to the uninstallers, so it doesn't get removed as it should. This patch has two parts. First, the Firefox uninstaller now removes any log files created for the installation it's uninstalling (there is only one directory and the files for different installation are differentiated by name). Second, the maintenace service uninstaller, when it gets run by the uninstaller for the last copy of Firefox on the system, removes the UpdateLogs directory itself, provided it is empty, which is should be at that point since all installations have been removed and have cleaned up their own files. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D85074
bcc1435157681e1d1830e8d18069f8ba2a97a402: Bug 1636539 - Part 4: Note remote disablement in browser default agent docs. r=agashlin,bytesized
Nick Alexander <nalexander@mozilla.com> - Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:04:53 +0000 - rev 541531
Push 122317 by nalexander@mozilla.com at Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:21:32 +0000
Bug 1636539 - Part 4: Note remote disablement in browser default agent docs. r=agashlin,bytesized Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D81168
0b95a5f433de2020533d3b9ca4e7ef686bb4045a: Bug 1636539 - Part 3: Use Rust remote settings client to fetch remote kill switch. r=agashlin,bytesized
Nick Alexander <nalexander@mozilla.com> - Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:04:27 +0000 - rev 541530
Push 122317 by nalexander@mozilla.com at Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:21:32 +0000
Bug 1636539 - Part 3: Use Rust remote settings client to fetch remote kill switch. r=agashlin,bytesized Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80768
12772d5d7702542767cb103ee39f37d6105611bb: Bug 1636539 - Part 1: Mirror preferences for remote settings to Windows Default Browser Agent. r=agashlin,bytesized
Nick Alexander <nalexander@mozilla.com> - Tue, 21 Jul 2020 21:51:59 +0000 - rev 541528
Push 122317 by nalexander@mozilla.com at Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:21:32 +0000
Bug 1636539 - Part 1: Mirror preferences for remote settings to Windows Default Browser Agent. r=agashlin,bytesized The pattern within Firefox is to configure `services.settings.server` and then build URLs from that. That pattern isn't the easiest for testing -- we don't have as much control over the final URL -- but it's what's desired for production. There's really no reason to do this in native code; it could just as easily be JavaScript that runs a little after startup, which would make it lighter to modify. But this location is next to the same pattern for the launcher process. Trade offs, trade offs. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80767
02560bbdfdb1c148d757d1a3f13f1e0d2f78799c: Bug 1636539 - Part 0: Expose default agent's Windows event log name. r=agashlin
Nick Alexander <nalexander@mozilla.com> - Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:17:49 +0000 - rev 541527
Push 122317 by nalexander@mozilla.com at Tue, 21 Jul 2020 22:21:32 +0000
Bug 1636539 - Part 0: Expose default agent's Windows event log name. r=agashlin This is an easy way to expose `MOZ_APP_DISPLAYNAME` to Rust code. A visibility declaration is required to expose the symbol; the `MOZ_*` macros follow the model of `/mfbt/Poison.{cpp,h}`. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D81408
be2431f1b1b925badbde8bcd5c6a38b902a2bae9: Bug 1643199 Followup - Properly account for registry data length. r=agashlin,bytesized
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Fri, 17 Jul 2020 16:02:16 +0000 - rev 540943
Push 122003 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Fri, 17 Jul 2020 16:08:16 +0000
Bug 1643199 Followup - Properly account for registry data length. r=agashlin,bytesized Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D83842
a37f8546288e4377ec723544830405c8dfd62896: Bug 1638055 - Fix update URL generation function's locale detection r=mhowell,agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Thu, 16 Jul 2020 20:04:58 +0000 - rev 540808
Push 121926 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Thu, 16 Jul 2020 20:06:25 +0000
Bug 1638055 - Fix update URL generation function's locale detection r=mhowell,agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D82790
ac0cffd433df4837a5d9f92efb05dfc597f7be46: Bug 1647489 - Ensure WDBA notification data is not lost r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:46:30 +0000 - rev 538327
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1647489 - Ensure WDBA notification data is not lost r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander Use caching to ensure that data collected when a ping is not sent eventually gets sent in a later ping. This is necessary only when a notification has actually been shown. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80711
e454276078d6bf5d26082c20ad6d548c9baf39c6: Bug 1644270 - Save default browser values for telemetry separately r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:46:10 +0000 - rev 538326
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1644270 - Save default browser values for telemetry separately r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander We need to consider the impact of multiple installations that don't all send telemetry every time they are called. If a default browser transition is detected and recorded in the registry, but no telemetry is shown, the default browser change event is lost. To avoid this, we will cache the last default browser value that was actually sent in a ping and report that as the previous browser, rather than reporting the most recent default browser that we saw. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80710
63c0fc65889be50136adb88895a62dad88b9e10b: Bug 1621703 - Only send one ping per day r=mhowell,nalexander,agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:45:33 +0000 - rev 538324
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621703 - Only send one ping per day r=mhowell,nalexander,agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80708
2fedf44d9f2ae87bffd444089a649c6b4510f331: Bug 1621703 - Add mutex to protect the registry r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:45:05 +0000 - rev 538323
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621703 - Add mutex to protect the registry r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander Since the WDBA now accesses registry values whose names are not prefixed, it could have concurrency problems when running at the same time as agents from other installations. This patch adds a mutex to address that problem. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80707
edfbd5a25c68cdf879e4f478d91fbe38710530f5: Bug 1621703 - Migrate prefixed CurrentDefault registry value name to an unprefixed one r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:44:47 +0000 - rev 538322
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621703 - Migrate prefixed CurrentDefault registry value name to an unprefixed one r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander This patch also adds an install-directory-prefixed "Installed" value since RemoveAllRegistryEntries relies on prefixed value names and we no longer use any other install-directory-prefixed value names in the WDBA. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80706
c313c7e92aad555c561ef62fa3bc4fa48a9e4c4b: Bug 1621703 - Windows Default Browser Agent Telemetry r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander,chutten
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:43:56 +0000 - rev 538320
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621703 - Windows Default Browser Agent Telemetry r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander,chutten Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D74956
392bc8ad6fea1953416105d7b594236ed5b87527: Bug 1621696 - Suppress the followup notification if the default browser has been changed r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:43:14 +0000 - rev 538319
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621696 - Suppress the followup notification if the default browser has been changed r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D80704
d573712ab88e95aad88e605a3095c6ede40db9fb: Bug 1621696 - Show toast notification when default browser changes from Firefox to Edge with the Blink engine r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:43:01 +0000 - rev 538318
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1621696 - Show toast notification when default browser changes from Firefox to Edge with the Blink engine r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D73964
a47f14392a5bd3feb81329c9751e7a73e4c343a3: Bug 1648528 - Consolidate registry access functionality in the WDBA r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:38:38 +0000 - rev 538309
Push 120506 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Wed, 01 Jul 2020 18:49:55 +0000
Bug 1648528 - Consolidate registry access functionality in the WDBA r=mhowell,agashlin,nalexander The pattern with /mfbt/Poison.cpp and IMPL_MFBT is well-established in the tree. Thanks to nalexander@mozilla.com for writing much of the code in this patch. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D81233
32cb37832953a7331904ccff64c7a7da3d054631: Bug 1648617 - Extract `wineventlog` crate from updateagent for more general use. r=agashlin
Nick Alexander <nalexander@mozilla.com> - Sat, 27 Jun 2020 00:55:59 +0000 - rev 537694
Push 120170 by nalexander@mozilla.com at Sat, 27 Jun 2020 03:12:34 +0000
Bug 1648617 - Extract `wineventlog` crate from updateagent for more general use. r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D81232
1f6ac88a6e4b6a052db204cec11af70d7ac823d5: Bug 1638509 - Enable the limited PostUpdate to update the WDBA task. r=agashlin,bytesized
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Tue, 26 May 2020 15:38:21 +0000 - rev 532204
Push 117066 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Tue, 26 May 2020 17:34:17 +0000
Bug 1638509 - Enable the limited PostUpdate to update the WDBA task. r=agashlin,bytesized This also requires removing the registry value cleanup from the unregister-task command and adding a new uninstall command which removes both the task and the registry values, because this patch now runs unregister-task during updates to remove the task before re-adding it, and that needs to leave the registry alone. Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D76354
f43b62fdbefc8a350474f4e786efef50915eb0ed: Bug 1636445 - Skip applying profile refresh button styles in high-contrast. r=agashlin
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Fri, 08 May 2020 19:07:53 +0000 - rev 528924
Push 115387 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Fri, 08 May 2020 20:49:39 +0000
Bug 1636445 - Skip applying profile refresh button styles in high-contrast. r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D74417
e9b7a8c2176cb6324617a9d911bcee8451f4fc12: Bug 1632884 - Update bits_client readme after bug 1586996 r=agashlin
David Major <dmajor@mozilla.com> - Tue, 28 Apr 2020 21:40:30 +0000 - rev 526950
Push 114589 by dmajor@mozilla.com at Thu, 30 Apr 2020 11:29:20 +0000
Bug 1632884 - Update bits_client readme after bug 1586996 r=agashlin A special winapi is no longer necessary. (I haven't "tested" this change; I merely found this in a search result for winapi-rs.) Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D72402
8fde1306bba7cf2020fb6b05abc7bee19d0047b8: Bug 1627805 - Obtain path for the download XML r=agashlin
Kirk Steuber <ksteuber@mozilla.com> - Tue, 28 Apr 2020 20:50:51 +0000 - rev 526575
Push 114363 by ksteuber@mozilla.com at Tue, 28 Apr 2020 20:55:15 +0000
Bug 1627805 - Obtain path for the download XML r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D69875
7b3f18a01096e1ec71e6632c625f25075977c83b: Bug 1632807 - Keep the WebBrowser plugin DLL from being unloaded after creating a timer. r=agashlin
Molly Howell <mhowell@mozilla.com> - Fri, 24 Apr 2020 19:10:34 +0000 - rev 526011
Push 114002 by mhowell@mozilla.com at Fri, 24 Apr 2020 19:12:37 +0000
Bug 1632807 - Keep the WebBrowser plugin DLL from being unloaded after creating a timer. r=agashlin Differential Revision: https://phabricator.services.mozilla.com/D72415